## **IEM 50th AGM and Anniversary Dinner 2009**

**THE** Institution of Engineers, Malaysia's 50th Annual General Meeting and Anniversary Dinner on April 18, 2009 was a huge success with its members coming from around the country. In the morning, the Annual General Meeting, held at Bangunan Ingenieur, was chaired by Y. Bhg. Datuk Paduka Engr. Hj. Keizrul bin Abdullah and continued by Y. Bhg. Dato' Engr. Prof. Dr Chuah Hean Teik, President for the 2009/2010 session.

Besides the normal agenda for the meeting, tokens of appreciation were also given to past Council Members and Immediate Past President for their contribution to the Institution. Y. Bhg. Dato' Engr. Prof. Dr Chuah Hean Teik then delivered his Presidential Address 2009 entitled 'Building the Past, Engineering the Present, Educating the Future'.

In the evening, the IEM Annual Dinner was attended by members, spouses and guests at the Imperial Ballroom, One World Hotel, Bandar Utama. The support from members and guests far surpassed the organiser's expectations.

Among the invited guests who graced the occasion were former Works Minister Y. B. Dato' Sri Ir. Mohd. Zin bin Mohamed; Engr. Tan Seng Chuan, President of the Federation of Engineering Institution of Asia and the Pacific (FEIAP), and the Institution of Engineers, Singapore (IES); Engr. Lu Shyue Ching, President of











(To be continued on page 8)

## **COVER STORY**





the Chinese Institute of Engineers, Taiwan (CIE); and Engr. Raymond Chan from the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE).

Other guests included heads of Government departments/statutory bodies/agencies, Vice Chancellors of local Institutions of higher learning and representatives of other professional bodies, Institutes and commercial establishments.

The Anniversary Dinner began with an opening address by IEM President Bhg. Dato' Engr. Prof. Dr Chuah Hein Teik, IEM President for 2009/2010 Session.

This was followed by a video presentation by IEM celebrating the achievements of the Institution since its formation. The celebrations continued with a cake cutting ceremony witnessed by 13 of the Institution's Past Presidents, as well as the launch of IEM's 50th Anniversary commemorative stamp and first-day cover with Pos Malaysia's representative Puan Yasmin binti Ramli.

While dinner was being served, the members and guests were entertained by a talented two-piece band. During an interval, Deputy President Engr. Vincent Chen Kim Kieong presented the IEM Gold Medal Awards to the Best Final Year Engineering Students in local Universities and Institutions of higher learning for the year 2008/2009. The recipients are listed as follows:

Abd. Razak bin Mohamed Shahul Hamid, Universiti Teknologi MARA Beh Khai Cheen, Multimedia University Ling Hwei Lin, Universiti Putra Malaysia Khor Want Sent, Universiti Tenaga Nasional Mohmin bin Salim, University Teknologi Malaysia Tang Aik Yong, Universiti Sains Malaysia Edward Anak David Miieg, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak Arthur Wong Kok Ming, Curtin University of Technology Sarawak Chong Nguan Soon, Swinburne University of Technology, Sarawak Campus Omar bin Mohd Sathakathullah, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia See Jian Hao, Universiti Malaysia Perlis Chang Siang Yee, Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka Wan Anuar bin Wan Hassan, Universiti Malaysia Pahang Anniza Soh Ai Mei, Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS Lee Hoe Kwang, Kevin, Monash University, Sunway Campus Adilah Zaira binti Abu Bakar, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

Among the numerous award presentations that night, Engr. Nurul Fadillah binti Mazlan received the Engr.



Dato' Engr. Prof. Dr Chuah giving out IEM's 50th Anniversary commemorative stamps and first-day cover to Past Presidents



Recipients of the top students award



Dato' Engr. Prof. Dr Chuah at the cake cutting ceremony together with the Institution's Past Presidents

Thean Lip Thong Prize for her outstanding technical paper which she jointly authored with Engr. Zaki bin Zainudin and En. Maketab bin Mohd. in the Chemical Engineering discipline. Engr. V. Jeewa was awarded the Tan Sri Engr. Hj. Yusuff Prize for the best Technical Paper contributed by a Corporate Member in the Electrical Engineering discipline.

The Raja Tan Sri Engr. Zainal Prize, on the other hand, was awarded to Engr. Dr Yin Chun Yang for the best Technical Paper contributed by a Graduate Member in the Chemical Engineering discipline of which he co-authored with Ms. Goh Bee Min.

The IEM Presidential Awards of Excellence 2009 were given to five Technical Divisions for their active participation in the Institution's activities for the year 2008. The Mechanical Engineering Technical Division was declared the winner, followed by the Geotechnical Engineering



Dato' Sri Ir Mohd Zin was conferred an IEM Honorary Fellow

Technical Division and the Civil and Structural Engineering Technical Division as the first and second runner up respectively.

The Project Management Technical Division was selected for the Most Improved Technical Division Award, while the fourth and fifth place went to the Electrical Engineering Technical Division and Building Services Technical Division.

The Most Supportive Award for graduate membership was presented to Engr. Lim Jit Kheng for the individual category, while Engr. Dr Suhaimi bin Abdul Talib received for Universiti Teknologi MARA for the organisation category.

For the Corporate membership category, Engr. Ali Askar bin Sher Mohd. received the Most Supportive Award for the individual category, while Engr. Dr Mohd. Johari from JKR received the award for the organisation category. Y. Bhg. Dato' Wira Engr. Md. Sidek bin Ahmad represented TNB to receive the award for the most active organisation in IEM's membership drive.

For his outstanding ability and leadership qualities, Engr. Dr Vigna Kumaran s/o Ramachandaramurthy was conferred the IEM Young Engineers Award 2009 in the academic category while Engr. Teh Tzyy Wooi won the award for the industrial category. Y. Bhg. Datuk Engr. Rosaline Ganendra was conferred the fourth IEM Lady Engineer Award 2009.

The highlight of the evening was when Dato' Sri Ir. Mohd. Zin was conferred an Honorary Fellow of the Institution. IEM members and guests then bid farewell with fond memories of an enjoyable evening. ■